The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The conclusion made by the planning department suggests the power company should not build new generating plants as the existing number of plants generate sufficient energy to meet the demand requirements and in contrast might be more than what is actually needed. If examined superficially, conclusion looks persuasive but a deeper look provides us with the argument being flawed due to its dependence on several understated assumptions.

First of all, the author assumes that the energy requirement by each house will remain constant over the concerned period of time. Even if less energy consuming appliances are used, the evidence that the people will not use more number of appliances is missing. With rich people consuming more appliances and increasing population demanding more appliances, the energy demand may definitely surge. Hence, more energy generation will be needed and the conclusion made by planning department gets invalidated.

Again, the department assumes that no new appliance or innovation will take place in the future. It may be possible that a new appliance which consumes more energy comes into the picture and shockingly starts getting used in every house. The perpetual advancement in technology will always lead to such innovations turning up and hence it should not be concluded that in such unprecedented situations, the energy demands will not increase.

Lastly, the planning department states how the energy requirements in the last twenty years can be used as a model for he upcoming years. It may happen that there will be a sudden shift in the lifestyle of people that they will start using more appliances. Nevertheless, the planning department has also not mentioned whether the energy these plants generate is used only by the residential people. What if other small factories, industries and offices be using this energy. If their demand rises or they grow in population, energy demands will definitely increase and hence more plants will be needed.

The argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its assumptions on several unwarranted assumptions mentioned previously. If author is able to justify these assumptions, than the validity of conclusion can be assured