The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the written petition, author is stating that anger amongst the sidewalkers is leading to assaults, property damage and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. As a solution to this problem, authour demands the council of centerville to ban cell phone use by people on sidewalks. This might lead to a solution, however there are three unwarrented assumptions made by author which need to be clarified before this petition can be stated strong enough.

Firstly, author assumes that mobile phone has been the primary reason why the assaults, property damage and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic are being observed. If this assumption fails to hold true, then even after implementing ban on cell phone use on sidewalks, crime rate would not diminish. This would weaken the argument.

Again, author makes an assumption that this observation has where cell phones are stated as the primary cause for the mentioned problems, he assusmes that cell phones were being used excessively in the last three years. What if the cell phone introduction to the sidewalkers would have occured only in the last one or two years. If so, the mentioned problems which are being seen from the last three years cannot be completely reasoned to the cell phone usage. Hence, bannig of cell phone use would again not result in diminished crime. This weakens the petition

Lastly, author compares the situation of Middletown with that of Centerville. What if the behaviour of people in both the places are different. In such a scenario, it might not hold true that people in Centerville will also behave in the same way of how the people in Middletown did. They may not behave properly leading to same state situations as before. Hence making cell phone use on sidewalks ban, would not prove beneficial. This again weakens the petition.

The petition, as it stand now, is flawed due to certain unwarrented assumptions which are mentioned above. If the author is able to provide justification for each of the above mentioned assumption, then we can conclude that banning cell phone use on sidewwalks will reduce assaults, property damage and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic.