Green tea has long been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging and immune-system boosting compounds. Many people therefore believe that the more cups they consume each day, the greater the benefits. Green tea, however, contains moderate amounts of caffeine, a stimulant that is not without side effects, including sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches. A long-term study has found that those who drink more than three cups of green tea a day are likely to have symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers, another source of caffeine, suffer. Therefore, it is important that anyone who chooses to drink green tea limit their intake to no more than two cups a day.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The conclusion made by the argument suggests people limit green tea intake to no more than two cups a day. The author concludes the above statement based on a study that claims that people intaking more than three cups a day of green tea will have symptoms similar to those found in the chronic coffee drinkers. This conclusion, however, depends on several unstated assumptions that are scrutinized below.

First of all, the author assumes that the study results are applicable to all the people which is not true since the study only claims that the occurrence of symptoms is just a possibility. What if certain people have different reaction potentials to the green tea intake amount? What if certain people are completely resistant to the side effects of the green tea but are in a dire need of its other effects which are claimed to be healthy. These questions based on the assumption made by the author weakens the argument.

Again the author fails to mention the exact concentration of the principle ingredient that is the green tea itself in the drink. If anyone makes a drink with lesser concentration of green tea in it compared to the concentration of green tea used in the study, then instead of two cups, the person can drink three cups of his drink leading to the same results. This casts doubt on the conclusion that why the figure "two cups" has been mentioned by the author in his conclusion.

Finally, the author also fails to take into account the fact that all the cups need not necessarily be of the same size. What if the study results are based on cups of relatively smaller size with respect to the cups which the author is mentioning. If this is true, then the conclusion drawn by the author is undoubtedly false.

The argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its dependence on several unwarranted assumptions stated above. If the author is able to justify these assumptions, then the validity of his conclusion can be assured.