The city of Winston has two large department stores: Namen and Roscoe. Namen is known for its high-end designer fashions, while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options. Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the growing suburb of Salem, where the population has grown over 50% in the last three years and where the median income is $75,000. Namen’s executives argue that as population and median income increase, people are willing to spend more money on clothing. However, Roscoe’s executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, and therefore their store will be more profitable than their competitor Namen.

The two stores, Namen and Roscoe are considering to open up new stores in the suburb of salem based of their predictions about how the future response of people from Salem would be. While coming up to this conclusion, both the stores take into account some unwarrented assumption which have not been addressed in the argument. These assumptions and their immediate effects are explained below.

First of all, Namen's executives think that both the population and income of people in Salme would increase. But, what is the proof? Just because population has surged by 50% in the last three years does not mean that it will keep rising. Nevertheless, What is the proof that the citizens of Salem would earn more. What if a depression settles in. If the executives of Namen can come up with some detailed study so that they could prove their predictions more likely to occur, then only validity of argument will hold.

Again, Roscoe's executives believe that the suburb families are more family oriented, but has not provided anything strong to confirm their views. It is just a belief. What if in the forthcoming years, suburbs experience more number of young students away from their families start settling in? What if the families themselves here have a different perspective of looking into things and prefer high end designer clothing? Based on just a belief, taking such a big decision is imprudent. Hence, the conclusion of Roscoe's executives can be challanged.

Finally, executives from both Namen and Roscoe fail to account for the fact that people may react differently to their products in the city of Salem when compared to the city of Winston. Roscoe's executives assume that all the family oriented people will purchase reasonably priced clothes while Namen's executives assume that people having more income would prefer buying high-end designer clother. Will this always hold? What if rich people of Salem prefer simple colthing and lifestyle or the family oriented people people try to purchase high-end designer clothing. If any of these statements go true, conclusions made by these stores would invalidate.

The conclusions drawn by the two stores, as it stand now are flawed. If the executives from each store are able to justify these assumptions, then only it would be advisable for the stores to expand their branches in Salem.