Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The conclusion made by author of the argument states the we can cure many chronic illnesses by following the way ancient humans ate. He ascribes this conclusion to the increasing consumption of Paleo diets and how the proponents support consumption of these foods by considering the example of bone broth. Again he makes the use of anecdotal evidence to support his argument. But the author fails to take into account certain understated assumptions which might weaken the argument. These are stated as follows.

First, the author assumes that consumption of bone broth is the only factor involved in lessening the metabolic and inflammatory diseases. What if people in contemporary world consuming bone broth might also be consuming some other material too. Considering this other material to be benificial to increase immunity against metalbolic and inflammatory diseases, bone broth may fail to become the actual reason of why these diseases are not occuring. Hence, this this must have created a misconception of how bone broth may have been responsible for lesser inflammatory and metabolic diseases. Hence by not eating the way ancient people ate or simply by not following them, we can still have better immune system and cure chronic illnesses. This weakens the argument.

Again, even if it is true that bone broth results on fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases, only based on the result obtained from bone broth consumption, one should not directly conclude to follow ancient eating habits. What if other edible stuff used by ancient people, may have been detrimental to health. If this point goes true, we can state that by emulating the way ancient people ate, we instead of curing chronic illnesses may rather invoke other diseases. This weakens the argument.

Lastly, author fails to take into account the time gap between the ancient and current generation. What if over these years our body structures may have changed drastically. If so, there might be a possibility that bodies in present generation may react differently to any given food material with respect to ancient people. If this statement becomes true, then following the eating habits and following diets of ancient people will not necessarily have same effects on bodies of current generation. This point will weaken the argument that how emulating the way ancient people ate, may cure chronic illnesses in bodies of our generation.

If the author is able to provide justification for the above stated assumptions, then with further considerations, we can conclude that emulating the way the ate, we can cure many diseases.