Claim: When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students.

Reason: Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Courses which are taught to students are generally based on the subjects which have vast courses and years of research behind them. From each subject, a course can be formed which can comprise a number of topics. Hence, an instructor should select appropriate and relevant topics. It is true that these topics should be selected in such a way that the students feel motivated, but this reliance should not be very high because these students are unaware of the course. Hence, I would mostly disagree with the claim and the reason given for it.

First of all, the educator should know what his students are expecting from the course and then should organize the course accordingly. For example, if some students are planning to take part in a competition and are planning to build a working model, then they will have to opt for various courses. Each of these courses will have their own syllabus and organization and every course will have information that will contribute nothing to their project. If the educators are aware of these students and their projects, courses can be modified accordingly and students will benefit from the majority of courses in a less amount of time.

But, the above thesis has some drawbacks. First of all, not all the students attending the course will have the same objective. Some may be working for a project, some may be taking up the course because they are interested in it, some students would have taken up the course to venture and discover something new while others may have taken it up just for the sake of completion of credits. In such cases with a diversity of aims amongst the students, it will become harder for the educator to come up with an outline of course that would bode beneficial for all the students at once.

Not only this but also a factor should be taken into account that students are themselves unaware of course material. That is the only reason why they are taking up the course in the first place. So relying on them to choose topics and help in organization, of course, may prove imprudent. This can be made clearer as follows – Suppose students wish to study a particular topic in the course, only the instructor will be aware of what prerequisites are required for the topic. Hence, students will have to learn these prerequisites even if they find them uninteresting. In such cases, it would behoove educator to go against the student’s wishes and organize the course according to his experiences.

True that students' interest and motivation will form an important factor in the design of any course, but to form a course solely to satisfy students' needs and interests may prove incorrect. Hence advisor should use suggestions by his students but finally, form the course based on what he thinks is appropriate.