The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A leader should invariably be aware of the responses given by the people he leads. Not only this awareness helps him to understand the situation at hand better, but also provides him with a better sense of introspection. But being aware would not always mean that he should encourage about what is being suggested to him. In other words, depending on the situation, a leader should decide whether to encourage feedback, take them into consideration or disregard them.

First of all, feedback is a necessary thing required by a leader for self-assessment. For instance, a course instructor only after getting feedback from his students can identify shortcomings in his teaching style. Not only this, but by encouraging this feedback by students and making changes accordingly, he can make his ties with students stronger than before. Hence, he will advance himself into becoming one of the best leaders in his field.

Again, a leader will be considered amongst the best if he is able to fulfill not only the organizational goals, but also keep track on what his followers think. For example, for a team working on a rocket project if the leader stays unyielding on any particular design point, oblivious to the detrimental effects his design is going to face, only the feedback from his team members will help him improvise. This will lead the project to a success and automatically future teams will consider him as a good leader

But, on the contrary, always encouraging feedback from the followers may put the leader in a state of quandary. For example, the president of a country cannot keep a track of billions of responses, his people give him. Moreover, some people will always tend to drag the leader down by making some intentional and derogatory remarks about his performance, trying to invariably befuddle him and distracting him from his target. The logic applied can also be extended to various other problems. Under such cases, the leader should not encourage feedback from each and every one.

In conclusion, to become a better leader, feedback is necessary and will mostly prove beneficial. But the leader should finally consider only those feedback, which after his own analysis will prove beneficial towards the goal. Nonetheless, he should have a sense of how much of this feedback he should allow modifying the system or process. Only then, he would have more chances of success and will become a better leader.