The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Teaching the students is an important task and must be done meticulously. Properly taught students generally, turn out to be fruitful in their careers. But the question arises, how should one be taught and what teaching practices should be followed by any teacher. The statement given in the issue task praises positive actions of teaching and ignoring the negative ones. In my perspective, simply stating the style of teaching in any situation is injudicious. It depends primarily on the environment of the place and the behavior of the students in deciding whether the above statement should be followed or not. I have one statement in support, one statement in contrast while the third one as an ambivalent statement concerning the given statement.

First of all, praising positive actions will galvanize any individual to perform better. A recent study by a university in Australia has suggested that praising someone after they complete their task, leads to the release of certain chemicals in their brain which inspires them and makes them more heedful towards their teacher. These acts can include, applauding the student, motivating them throughout their task, keeping a check on them and helping them solve their problems whenever they get stuck. These tricks help students as it makes them more concerned and motivated towards the next step.

In contrast, only praising the positive efforts of students will not be always prolific. As stated in the statement, ignoring negative actions may certainly lead to negative affect if the action is completely ignored. For example, while teaching in a class, if a teacher notices certain hostile answers which may hurt sentiments of others or are wrong on virtuous perspectives towards the nation or any organization, being brought up by any student while explaining any answer. That teacher must correct these negative answers at that very instant. If the above-stated suggestion is not followed, other students will start mimicking the same behavior. If the concept is wrong, not only one student but the whole class will follow this example. This might become rampant and if not controlled may lead to blatant mistakes being done by students. Hence depending on the situation, it should be made necessary sometimes to point out the mistakes of students.

The third statement I would present is quite ambivalent. It depends on the age group and environment of the student in which he is learning. For instance, we cannot treat a twenty years old man and a five-year-old child in the same manner. The twenty years old man is highly mature compared to the child. Completely Ignoring negative actions in case of the child may make him devoid of negative consequences of things while only focusing on negative actions and being too strict on him might imbalance his way of thinking and make him a person with a dubious character. Again, for elder students, their social circle matters a lot. Every peer group will have different traits. Some being too stubborn while others being innocent. Based on circumstances both the group need to be treated differently. For a negative and bumptious peer group, there should be a proper balance of how negative and positive actions are being praised unlike the statement given in the task.

Concluding, I would like to say how important it is to have a balance between both negative and positive actions while teaching depending primarily on the circumstances in which teaching is being done and the age group of students in which he or she is.