The following is an excerpt from a speech given to the School Board about a change to the curriculum:

"Because the future will be dominated by technology, we must make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students. If our students take these classes, they’ll all be able to get high-paying programming jobs and lead fulfilling lives because software engineers and data scientists have the best job prospects and salaries. Therefore, we must educate our students so they can secure these kinds of jobs. Even if they pursue other careers, programming will still benefit them, given that all industries are becoming more technological."

The speech provided as in the context suggests that it should be made mandatory for all the students to take four years of computer programming. The author makes this conclusion based on the point that these classes will help them get high paying programming jobs and fulfilling lives. Nonetheless, these classes are also helpful for those opting for other career options given that industries are becoming more technological. This argument can be validated completely if the author qualifies to provide justifications for certain unwarranted assumptions he has made.

First of all, the author assumes that taking the four years of computer programming course will prove sufficient for the students to get high paying jobs and lead fulfilling lives. Is this the only way of getting a high paying job? What if the student is not pertinent to this field but is proficient in some management or any other science filed. Definitely, he would excel there and hs demand will be more in those fields. Moreover, he will lead a fulfilling life in the field he wants to work in rather than the computer field which he may be in contrast with. This weakens the argument.

Again, the author is being overbearing in his claim stating that all four years of programming will be needed to fetch a software engineer's or a data scientist's job. This is not true since even in a very short time with proper guidance, a student can learn all the skills he would need to fetch these jobs. Moreover, the author has clearly not mentioned the reason why four years of this complete course is required. What if only two years of selective programming courses are sufficient for getting these software engineer and data scientist jobs? The author fails to answer this question and hence the validity of the argument is challenged.

Lastly, the author assumes that computer programming will invariably prove beneficial to a student irrespective of the career he is seeking claiming all industries are becoming technological. But will it always be true that a student will apply for any industrial job? What if he opens up a small shop or a real estate business? What if he enters the political field and performs social works. In such cases, computer programming will render him no benefits.

The argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed. If the author is able to justify the above-stated assumptions, the validity of the given argument can be assured.