The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

The efficacy of teaching lies in the manner in which a teacher responds to his student’s actions. Though, it is difficult to disregard some extreme actions of the students, which indeed needs to be condemned, ignoring an average will have a more positive impact. On the other hand, praising a student’s good work is always appreciable but not to the point that the student starts feeling complacent about his achievements. Concerning the above statement, I would partially agree with the prompt giving two reasons in support of it while one opposing it.

First of all, praising any student after he does a positive action is necessary because it creates a sense of optimism within the student. For example, after a competition, if the guide or mentor praises the efforts of all the students and not only the winner, other participants feel better since they acknowledge the fact that their efforts were not futile. Moreover, after such praises, students often pay reverence to their teachers making the bond between the two even stronger. This ensures that students will feel optimistic about the next competition and the teacher will be given proper attention since he is being given respect. His teaching efficacy will improve.

Also, in several cases ignoring the negative actions of students is prudent. In my case, I remember a teacher who used to criticize me even on the silliest of my mistakes. She used to scold me if I fail to solve any problem or attend any class late. Even if I did any of the mistakes inadvertently, she never missed a chance to criticize me. As a result, I always felt annoyed by her seemingly perverse behavior. I started neglecting her, trying to evade her lectures, and even when I had doubts, suppressed them lest she would criticize me again. From this one can conclude that, when not necessary, teachers should avoid the silly or pardonable actions done by the students.

But again one cannot entirely neglect the wrong actions or keep praising the positive actions all the time. Considering the same example explained in the previous paragraph, if a student comes to a class late on a habitual basis, it is obvious that he needs to be admonished. If a student is remiss in his studies to a high level, he needs to be addressed that this will do him no good. Not only this but praising students at every point may make them complacent. If they are always praised, they may become overconfident, bossy towards others. Moreover, this action of praising positive actions frequently may create a sense of unhealthy competition in the class where students will fight for attention. Hence in such cases, the prompt can be challenged.

Indeed one may argue that praising positive actions and ignoring the negative ones may entail certain negative consequences mentioned in the third paragraph, one needs to keep sure when to use apply the statement in the prompt and when to disregard it. Students need to be praised for big achievements or their participation in any event but not for the easied and silliest questions they answered correctly. Similarly, ceratin pardonable actions can be ignored, but serious and detrimental actions need to be addressed.