Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Leadership is a foundational quality that a system or organization depends upon. The success or failure of any organization is to a very high extent dependent upon the performance of the leader. Though, it is expected that every individual will behave differently under the same situations (so will the leaders), but it will always be wise for a leader to take teachings and learning from the past and alongside come up with his new ideas. In some sense, before taking the actions, a leader should use the past to cultivate a better future and make something new out of it. Firstly, past experiences of any place or leaders, provide the leader with a catholic view of the situation in hand with all possible outcomes of the actions that he might take. For instance, in martial situations, a newly appointed leader may examine and evaluate the strategies used by past leaders enlisting how well their strategies worked. This will help him preclude any unwanted situations and aid him with a better sense of decision making, reducing the possibility that he would fail. Hence in this way past plays an important role in outlining the position that past is useful to those in the current position of leadership. Not only this but also an important point to be noted is that past experiences guide the current leaders with a better sense of connectivity with the circumstances. For instance, a newly appointed manager in any big company can learn from the experiences of the past leaders regarding the environment of the workplace and mindset of employees. This will give him a headstart in choosing apt individuals for different tasks and will provide him with a better view of how will people working under him react when entrusted with any task. Thus experience, in this case, will help the leader form better decisions. Though we might be tempted to conclude how past always helps us creating a better future, but looking on the other side, this will not always hold. Past experiences may sometimes turn out to be intimidating for the leader and put his morale down. For instance, consider the example in the previous paragraph, the leader in charge if he realizes that all the past leaders failed even after trying their best, just because of the reasons which were out of their control, he might get worried and get intimidated before even the problem starts. Nevertheless, sometimes the leader is expected to bring in new changes which are only possible when they go out of traditional practices and come up with completely new and different ideas. In such cases pondering on past experiences will only hamper the progress of the firm, and hence past instead of being helpful would turn out to be detrimental. In the conclusion, I would state that past is an essential consideration to be taken into account by the current leaders but solely depending on past and forming a future outline based on past experiences may turn out to be misleading. Hence taking past experiences into account, they must produce new ideas to tackle problems differently.