A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Students and education constitute the foundation of any country based on which the prosperity and growth of the country depends. It is true that a lot of courses taught to the students in their childhood, before they enter college do not render them with a very strong and direct benefit in terms of their career and personal life, but it is necessary for them to have a common foundation which is in interest of the national development first. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the statement in the prompt.

First of all, when students enter in the colleges, all the students turning up to a particular class should have equal level of knowledge and grasping power. For example, students turning up in a litreture class should be aware of that subject on an equal level. A student with rigorous mathematical background or someone with a strong knowledge in biological subjects, or even a student who has learnt all the way upto his college life in language different from what is written in the coming texts are not likely to completely comprehend the literature class and perform well in it. Hence, a national curriculum is needed to ensure that the students with disparate cultural, social and geographical background are at same level before entering the college.

Again, one may argue that a national curriculum may not benefit all the students at once. For example, a student who wants to enter into the scientific field may argue that moral sciences and the basic humanities will do no good to him. But one must not forget that the nation comes first. Their is a need that the people should learn stuff about their culture, their country, they should have basic knowledge about a lot of things which would shape their perspective in a view so that they can serve their country. Hence, a common curriculum would take care that all these values are imparted in them.

It is thus necessary to have a same national curriculum until students enter college. But, what matters more is the way in which this curriculum is designed. If the curriculum is such that it forces students to take completely irrelevant subjects, then the statement in prompt may go wrong. For example, if a student after his basic education, two years before joining college, imagines his future in scientific field, then higher level politics course would do no good to him. In such cases, making higher level politics course to all the students would not be appropriate to everyone. Optional and vocational choices should be given to the students so that along with the basic foundational courses, they get an advantage especially in the fields they want to enter.

In conclusion, it is must that a nation should make all the students follow the same national curriculum until they enter college, but a nation should also take care that the structure of these foundational courses are not stringent and irrelevant to some in such a way that the statement in prompt becomes invalidated when looked on a broader sclae and thinking about all the students.