Politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Politicians play a primary role in shaping of any country or society. Politicians tend to have power but one should also keep in mind that with great power comes great responsibility.

In tough times, politicians should come together on common ground and agree with what is good for all even if this goes against their position. This will be necessary to solve the problem quickly rather than worsening it. For instance, after recent outbreak of epidemic, rather than following elusive ideals, it is expected from the country officials to come together to solve unprecedented problems related to the epidemic that have started showing up. Rather than arguing on disparate ideals, they should agree with the most feasible solution in hand. Only this will avoid wastage of time.

Again, pursuing common grounds have often led to better results. For instance, the UN assembly members always seem to have upper hand since they help each other more frequently as compared to the other countries which are not the part of it. In such scenarios, coming pursuing common grounds actually has resulted in better relationships which helps in individual growth in times of need.

But this does not mean that this should always hold true. It often times is seen how to warring politicians have different perspectives. For example, one politician focuses on developement of backward classes and hence idealizes to give reservations to these classes if he comes into power while the other one focuses more on equality stating that backward classes, if given reservations, would misuse their powers. Both have disparate views but coming on reasonable consensus seems difficult. In such scenario, based on the prevailing conditions of the people and place, a final decision will have to be made.

Hence depending on the prevailing situations, one must conclude whether politicians should pursue common grounds and reasonable consensus or pursue their elusive ideals.