The following appeared as part of the Dean’s newsletter:

"The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts."

According to Dean's newsletter, for making students well-rounded and charitable members of the society, The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students, which can be beneficial to both the students and the local charities. This can turn out into an efficient idea if, these three assumptions can be assessed rightfully.

Firstly, one of the assumptions is that the local charities which will be listed on the university's website are truthful and trustable. From what all sources, the university has validated the credibility of the charities? This is an important factor because, the students are putting their time and energy into working these charities, they should be provided with good and credible charities, so that they don't get treachered at the end of their service, and have a bad influence on them which is completely the opposite intention of this whole charity service requirement.

Secondly, it is assumed that the real-world experience will be useful for the students. As they are supposed to work for 8 hours per month for 9 months, they should be working in charities which are suitable to their careers. This will keep them more interested to work and also be educational at the same time. For example, a student who wants to be a teacher, can serve people by teaching and a student who wants to practice medicine can serve the charities by treating people. In this way, it can be useful to the student.

Lastly, students might not have to right expertise to get familiarized in an environment where they never belonged. This could lead to additional training from the university's side, or even worse from the charity's side. This might increase the costs of either the university or the charity itself.

In conclusion, the argument which stands now, has flaws and can be further evaluated. Due to it's reliance on the unwarranted assumptions, there could be things that can go wrong. More evidence with statistics is required to prove that charitable service is fruitful to the students and the charities, so that a correct decision with the right rules is taken by the university.