The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The close monitoring of the biochemical responses of many animal species to gain insight into the behavioral patterns has gained a lot of traction and popularity in the recent years. While many studies provide fresh evidence that debunks the commonly accepted theories being followed in the scientific community, quite a few studies tend to overestimate their results and hence fail to provide incorrigible conclusions. In the preceding statement, the author claims that the birth order among Rhesus monkeys influences the magnitude of response towards stimulation. The author then extrapolates the conclusions made on Rhesus monkeys to Human beings. While this study may well have some merit, the author constructs a poorly reasoned argument, based on several small scale observations and many glaring yet feeble assumptions.

Primarily, the author has conducted behavioral experiments with Rhesus Monkeys which are a specific species of the Monkey family. It is a well-known fact that different species of the same family of animals exhibit extremely dissimilar characteristics and behaviors. The observations made while providing stimulus to a Rhesus monkey cannot be extrapolated to the complete Monkey family and yet, the author has provided a juxtaposition with the behavior of Human Beings. Second, the author has provided data for infant species of the Rhesus Monkeys. It is an established notion that the brain develops actively from infancy till maturity. Drawing conclusions of such high importance taking the volatile infant brain into consideration could lead to completely unreliable results. The author's selection of species and method of study casts some doubts on the conclusions proposed.

In addition, the author makes several assumptions that remain unproven. Firstly, the use of Cortisol hormone levels to measure the response to a stimulus is based on the assumption that Cortisol is the only hormone that is responsible for priming the body when activity levels increase. There may be multiple hormones that get secreted in our body based on the type of stimulus provided. Second, the author compares the Cortisol levels amongst siblings. This implies that cortisol levels for different age groups are compared collectively. The author assumes that the levels of hormonal secretion remain the same irrespective of the age and development of the species. The author weakens his argument by making atrocious assumptions that cannot be proven to exist.

While the author's premise and conclusion may not be infallible, that is not to say that the entire argument is without a base. The author can further strengthen his argument by providing a more diverse data set. A comparison of the response of multiple species of Monkeys to a stimulus can be cross-referenced with the age of monkeys. A deeper study into mother monkeys can provide evidence into whether cortisol levels in the infant monkeys depend on the hereditary levels of the mothers.

Summing up, the author's illogical argument is based on unsupported premises and unsubstantiated assumptions that render his conclusion invalid. A thorough study regarding stimulus responses among species needs to be carried out in a more analytical fashion. If the author truly hopes to change his readers' minds on the issue, he would have to largely restructure his argument, fix the flaws in his logic, clearly explicate his assumptions, and provide evidentiary support. Without these things, his poorly reasoned argument will likely convince few people.