A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

This topic raises the widely debated issue of uniform education norms across a nation. Admittedly, by having a common curriculum, the college faculties have a clear understanding of the depth of each topic studied by the student prior to college education. This helps in administering the course with equal effectiveness throughout the batch of students. Nevertheless, a common curriculum results in students having the same logical and intellectual biases. Thus, I generally disagree with the fact that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

First of all, for a large nation with a cultural diverse population, it is counter productive to have a singular curriculum. For example, the Indian Education System is divided into multiple state-level education boards which decide the curriculum of each state. As a result, each state structures the curriculum keeping in mind the relevance of the student's cultural, geographic, historic and linguistic background. By giving localised examples while elucidating the lessons and teachings, the imparted knowledge has a more profound impact and stays with the student for a longer duration.

Secondly, consider a scenario where all the students are taught using the same standard curriculum set. Upon being admitted to college, all students will have a common viewpoint in each of the topics covered by the curriculum. As a result, The possibility of diverging views and opinions will be minimized. We are well aware of the fact that debates and discussions help bring out scenarios and perceptions that may not be intuitive in nature. Yet, if all the students present the same line of thinking, there will be no scope of thinking outside the box. Taking any International University into considerations, the university tries to admit students from multiple diverse backgrounds. Will selecting candidates, the universities prefer students of different educational and professional background to be present in the batch to encourage the exchange of new ideas and notions.

Admittedly, by having a common syllabus or curriculum, the problem of different students which different skillsets struggling with the prerequisites of the college can be avoided. The students enrolling in the college will be equipped with all the required educational skills uniformly thus avoiding confusion and chaos. However, with the advent of free forums students can readily take extra courses prior to joining the college to make up for any subjects they lack in. This flexibility offers the possibility of choosing one's own path according to interest and aptitude.

In conclusion, although enforcing a common curriculum for the complete nation may seem like an efficient approach for preparing students for college, this method may take away the creative edge present in the system of diverse educational curriculums. As long as proper guidance is provided to students on what subjects and syllabus need to be covered for a particular college course, the students can readily put in extra efforts to meet the expectations of the college authorities. In fact, many colleges have now prepared a list of topics that an aspiring student needs to be well versed in. All applying students can access this list at any time and make up for any topics that they fall short of by taking extra classes.