To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

This topic raises the debatable issue of whether major cities reflect the salient characteristics of the complete society. Indisputably, foremost impressions regarding the characteristics of the society are made by observing the major cities. Nevertheless, I believe that the major cities of any region cannot provide an authentic picture of its society's characteristics due to the sheer diversity present throughout the region. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that the major cities of a region portray the most important characteristics of the society present.

First of all, even amongst metropolitan cities across a region, the society is not constant with time. Society keeps evolving as long as the individual resident's progress in any direction. The evolution of the characteristics of the society in metropolitan cities is agile and prone to changes. In contrast, smaller cities and towns tend to be more inertial in adopting new characteristics and thus provide a more accurate assessment of society. To illustrate, let us look at the example of Fast Developing East Asian countries like China, India, Japan where the metropolitan cities are quite dynamic and provide a completely different picture when compared with more rustic regions of each country.

Secondly, due to multiple factors like population, poverty, employment, pollution, and quality of life, the important characteristics of respective societies present in each metropolitan city may vary. The major cities of any region are likely to be well connected with the rest of the world and is expected to have a steady inflow of migrants from different regions. This results in the mingling of different ideologies and ultimately societies. Due to the constant exchange of ideas and cultures, the outlook of societies in the major cities may be inconsistent with their smaller counterparts. The smaller cities tend to fairly retain the majority of the original characteristics that were considered important by the society.

Admittedly, the major cities act as an introductory portal for the rest of the world. The impressions formed while interacting with the society of major cities is suffice to quench the inquisitiveness of most. However, the above argument does not constitute a sufficient support to claim that the study of major cities is sufficient to form an impression about the prevalent society of the region.

In conclusion, although metropolitan cities provide a mild, modulated version of the society of the region, I believe that the complete study of the important characteristics of a society can only be done successfully if the minor cities and towns are also studied. This approach provides a holistic approach to understanding the society exhaustively. As long as both metropolitan cities and smaller, uninfluenced cities and towns are studied in tandem, comprehensive insights can be gained regarding the society. In fact, most studies being done currently are more interested in the hinterlands and remote cities of most regions to imbibe the authentic characteristics of the society present.