Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Using patches of evidence, the given passage concludes that baskets earlier attributed to Paleans were, in fact, not unique to Paleans. This conclusion is broadly based on two disjointed shreds of evidence. One is the discovery of a "Palean" basket in Lithos. The other evidence is the current depth and width of the Brim River, which requires boats to get across. Archaeologists have not found any evidence of boats associated with the Paleans yet. However, the conclusion tied to this evidence holds true only if a specific set of assumptions were true. In the event of any of these assumptions being proven false, the complete argument will fail.

Firstly, the assumption that the depth and width of the Brim River would remain unchanged through several hundred years is flawed. It is well known for rivers to keep changing its form dynamically. Meandering and straightening periodically, the dimensions of the river do not remain stable with time. The river may have been a small rivulet during the prehistoric times which would have made crossing it quite easy. It is even possible that there may not have been a river and people of different villages were able to communicate without any obstacle.

Secondly, the discovery of a "Palean" basket in Lithos does not necessarily mean that the basket was devised in Lithos itself. The basket may have found its way across to Lithos as a trinket, an item of trade made by the barterers of Palea or simply given as a gift. The discovery of a single basket should not be taken as evidence for disattributing the basket from Palea.

Also, if the premise of the river being broad and deep holds true and no evidence of boats in Palea are found by archaeologists, there is a possibility that the people of Lithos may have used boats to cross the Brim river and communicate with the Paleans. Moreover, not being able to find Palean boats does not warrant the non-existence of such boats. They simply may not have been found yet. Or, have disintegrated with the passage of time beyond recognition.

Therefore, the evidence provided by the archaeologists needs to be reexamined with a fine toothed comb and reasonable assumptions should be made. Finding evidence to debunk the above arguments will strengthen the argument. Currently, the argument gives little reason to believe that Palean baskets are not unique to Palea.