As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The outlook that the ability of humans to think for themselves will deteriorate due to increasing reliance on technology is debatable. While each school of thought has its own strengths and weaknesses, I holistically believe that relying on technology will ultimately strengthen human comprehension and cognitive abilities. Emerging technologies not only help in providing solutions for mundane problems like daily calculations but also help to analyse more obscure and lengthy data sets. Technology has helped humans collaborate and thereby accelerate the rate at which mankind progresses further. Moreover, advancement of technology itself is a prodigious task and requires the unwavering efforts of an ardent community of highly adroit humans.

Since the advent of the industrial revolution, which is considered a landmark in Technology, the rate at which discoveries and inventions are being made across all disciplines has risen exponentially. In a span of 100 years, the average life expectancy of Humans has increased from a mere 40 years to 65 years. Thus, a juxtaposition of enhancements in technology can be made with the quality of life of the average human being. With the help of research and increased awareness, many diseases like smallpox and polio have been completely eradicated from many countries of the world. Diseases that were once incurable like Cancer and AIDS now have both curative and palliative treatments available due to the zealous efforts in trying to find a cure.

The profound effect technology has had on an average human being’s life can also be illustrated by addressing the age old problem of communication. Evolving from the era of pigeon carriers and human envoys, Sir Alexander Graham Bell's efforts to develop the telephone revolutionized long distance communication. Furthermore, we are able to socialize with people from all over the globe sitting at our desks in an instant. We are able to carry out face to face conversations with colleagues that are thousands of miles apart.

That being said, constantly being bolstered by technology and gadgets has definitely invaded human lives to the extent of making them dependent on it. The absence of these gadgets or virtual assistances makes us completely flimsy and gauche. Studies have also proven that sometimes new technologies, along with their promise of making human lives more comfortable, introduce fresh problems. For instance, early advancements in Power Sector saw a rise in the rate of burning of fossil fuels. This resulted in a marked increase in Pollution and introduced a plethora of new environmental issues like Global Warming. However, due to the perpetual nature of research and development, these shortcomings of fossil fuels were identified and new clean and renewable sources of energy were identified that could be employed for sustainable development of mankind.

In conclusion, I feel that technology and evolution of humanity are in tandem. From the above examples, it is clearly evident that as technology progresses, the qualitative ability of human thought will develop aggressively.