The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Comprehensive Analysis of businesses to illuminate multiple factors that influence the overall popularity and profitability of the business has become a powerful approach to increase general business throughput. On one hand, taking too many factors into consideration while analyzing any business will lead to extremely obscure and complex derivations which may not provide any clear indices about the business itself. On the other hand, taking very few factors in view during analysis will lead to faulty conclusions. In the preceding statement, the author claims that skateboarding is the main cause of declining business of the store owners in Central Plaza. Though this claim may be based on some analysis, the author presents a poorly reasoned argument based on several questionable premises and assumptions. Based solely on the evidence provided by the author, we cannot accept this argument as valid.

The primary issue with the author's reasoning lies in his unsubstantiated premises. The author states that store owners believe that the debacle surrounding their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the Plaza. The author makes no effort of verifying this claim in a judicious way. We simply cannot believe the hunches of the businessmen without any supporting evidence. Also, the author is trying to pinpoint a reason for low business output by analyzing external factors. However, it is quite possible that the stores in the Plaza have intrinsic shortcomings which led to the decline in their popularity. The author has not provided any evidence of verifying the intrinsic factors that influence the popularity of the stores. The author's premises, the basis for his argument, lack any legitimate evidentiary support and render his conclusion unacceptable.

In addition, the author makes several assumptions that remain unproven. Firstly, the dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism is attributed to skateboard users. It is highly likely that several factors may have added up to create such a situation. For example, lack of security and surveillance, or shortage of janitors. Second, the author assumes that the fall in popularity of stores is due to a single reason i.e. skateboard users. However, in any practical business situation, the cause of any issue is seldom singular. Hence, the assumption that banning skateboards will resolve the problem of falling popularity of the stores in the Plaza is baseless. The author weakens his argument by making assumptions and failing to provide explication of the links between skateboard users and impact on business.

While there are several flaws in the key premises and assumptions made by the author, it is not to say that the entire argument is completely baseless. The author may have made an astute observation by linking popularity of businesses with skateboard users. However, the observations need bolstering evidence that can prove his conclusions completely. By providing evidence of instances where skateboarding has led to vandalism and eventual decline in business would strengthen the argument immensely.

In sum, the author's illogical argument is based on unsupported premises and unsubstantiated assumptions that render his conclusion invalid. If the author truly hopes to change his readers' minds on the issue, he would have to largely restructure his argument, fix the flaws in his logic, clearly explicate his assumptions, and provide evidentiary support. Without these things, his poorly reasoned argument will likely convince few people.