The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Road safety and reduction of casualties due to automotive accidents has become a paramount task for municipal bodies. On one hand, studies dictate that clamping down on the number of vehicles on the road at a given time, the frequency of road accidents can be brought down. Another school of thought supports the idea of educating drivers and ensuring that driving licenses be granted to citizens with proper driving etiquette. In the previous statement, the author presents the notion of reduction of the number of mopeds on Balmer Island roads to ensure a decline in moped accidents. Though this claim may well have some merit, the author presents a poorly reasoned argument, based on several questionable premises and assumptions. Based solely on the evidence provided by the author, we cannot accept his argument as valid.

The primary issue with the author's reasoning lies in his unsubstantiated premises. The author suggests the town council of Balmer Island to ape the town council of Seaville due to the success in the reduction of accidents in Seaville by throttling the number of mopeds on roads. The distribution of vehicles, as well as drivers, may be very different in these two islands. It is possible that Seaville had a larger number of inexperienced drivers. In such cases, the solution mentioned by the author may suffice. However, no evidence has been provided by the author to suggest that the driving conditions and demographics of both islands are similar. Secondly, the author fails to notice that by limiting the number of rented mopeds per day, the municipal corporation will enforce a first come first serve mechanism. There would not be any way of knowing whether the first 25 drivers renting out the mopeds were immature drivers who are more prone to accidents.

In addition, the author makes several assumptions which further weakens his argument. The author assumes that the mopeds themselves are the cause of road mishaps. However, the author fails to provide proof of the fact that road accidents by other vehicles is negligible and can be ignored. The author wrongly assumes that all drivers are equally skilled and cautious drivers. Alternatively, the town council could place more stringent traffics laws like speed limits, mandatory use of safety equipment, regular documentation of moped servicing and maintenance. The author weakens his argument by making assumptions that remain unproven and failing to provide explication of the links between controlling the number of mopeds on road and accidents caused by them.

While the argument has key issues in the premise and assumptions made by the author, it is not to say that the entire argument is without a base. Primarily, before completely implementing the ban, the author could have done a simulated study in a smaller area. The results of this activity could clearly indicate whether the regulation of mopeds would actually help in reducing accidents. There are several issues with the authors reasoning at present. With research and clarification, he could greatly improve the impact of his argument.

In sum, the author's argument is illogical and based on unsupported premises and unsubstantiated assumptions which render his conclusion invalid. The author needs to revisit the research and analysis done for Moped users and refine the suggestions proposed by him. If the author truly hopes to change the readers' minds on the issue, he would have to largely restructure his arguments, fix the flaws in his logic, clearly explicate his assumptions and provide evidentiary support. Without these, his poorly reasoned argument is unlikely to convince many people.