The following appeared as part of a memo from the manager of an automobile manufacturing company.

"Because the demand for our automobiles is expected to increase dramatically, we need to open a new manufacturing plant as soon as possible in order to continue to thrive. Our marketing projections indicate that 80 million people will want to buy our automobiles, yet our existing plant can only produce 40 million automobiles. The new plant can be opened on a part- , with workers from our existing site rotating responsibilities, until an operational staff can be trained. A major airplane manufacturer was extremely successful using this part-time rotating strategy when it opened its new plant five years ago."

The manager of an automobile company claims that their automobiles' demand in the market is growing, so that he recommends to establish a new production plant at the earliest in order to perpetuate thriving. He further suggests to employ workers on part-time basis: a concept which rotates the responsibilities of the existing workers. He tries to substantiate his argument by giving an example of an airplane company, although his assumption and the derived final conclusion seems full of fallacies, and needs to ruminate over several specific details before jumping to this conclusion.

First of all, the manager's memorandum clearly mentions that the demand for their automobiles is expected to upsurge: additional 80 million people are willing to purchase automobiles. Nevertheless, he should be clear that there is a huge difference between " willing to buy" and "able to buy", peoples are willing to buy his automobiles does not reflect their capacity to procure it. There may be a situation, an indigent man, for example, might have will to buy, he does not have enough financial stamina to do it, however. Thus, the manager should be cautions if the field researchers have included such types of people as well. Therefore, the manager's argument would have been further innervated if he had supplied further evidences describing those 80 million peoples are the people who have both will, and the financial standards to purchase automobiles.

Likewise, according to the claim put forwarded by the manager, he recommends to open up a new manufacturing plant on a part-time basis, with labors from existing company rotating their responsibilities. Before making this recommendation manager would have considered factors - like the perception of labor unions in this regard, personal view of existing workers, and so forth. Without conferring to the ideas, and view points of labor, it would be fallacious to assume that they would accede to this idea. I, therefore, suggest the manager to make an alternative plan for the situation, if the workers denied such proposal. It would be better for the company, and the professional success of manager to formulate a new plan for the situation if labor unions said big NO to the changed responsibilities appropriated to them.

Finally and perhaps most importantly, the manager unfairly assumes that his automobile company, and an aeroplane company, and their market are quite same. Laughable, is not it? The manager should be clear on the fact that airplane and the automobile markets are not same. They are vastly different, indeed. This plan thrived in an jet plane manufacturer company, and what are the evidences that helped the manager to conclude that it will be successful in his automobile company as well. Hence, the manager should elucidate the missing gap in this argument linking similarities - and of course dissimilarities too, existed between these two markets, and the manufacturing.

To recapitulate, the manager should address many specific details missing in his claim before jumping hurriedly to the conclusion, although the premises supplied by the manager might be true. For the company, in order to persist thriving, the concerns raised above needs to be carefully studied before the establishment of new plant.