The following appeared as part of a petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group:

“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

According to the given petition sent by an environmental protection group to the residents of Youngtown, it is easy to understand that the protection group wants to prohibit the Smith Corporation from developing the land. The author has also presented some points in support to his claim, one such being the disastrous consequences due to the proposed development and other being the drop of sale benefit of their community due to the development of a small hotel in that area. Though the author's argument looks plausible to some extent, it is rife with loopholes and some baseless assumptions which makes the argument weaker.

Starting with the author's implications, the author asserts that the sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in their area. Here, the author has failed to provide proper information regarding, how is the sanctuary essential for the species survival, what are the factors they are taking to save such species. Even, its quite ambiguous to understand whether the 300 bird species are from their sanctuary or is it present in the whole Youngtown. The author needs to back his premise with suitable information.

Moving forward, the author goes on to imply that though a small percentage of land is given to smith the proposed development will have disastrous consequences in their area. Here, again the author fails to provide a valid and concrete evidence that proves the disastrous consequence due to the proposed development. Even, the term "proposed development" in itself doesn't lead the argument anywhere. Without properly knowing what exactly was the proposed development, its hard to predict how can such a development in a small area be hazardous to complete area. The author need to come up with a thorough analysis and strong evidence.

Building upon the implications, the author further states that the company plans to build a small hotel and also promises to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary. The author doesn't stop here and continues with an assumption that their plan would only harm the sanctuary. Now, talking about the previous and current premise combinedly, it looks quite contradictory how can a small hotel be a disastor to their area. Moreover, the author even has failed to mention the reason again, without specific reason of the harm that a small hotel could provide its impossible to come to a conclusion. It is easy to understand that there could have been a harm to the sanctuary if they were building a factory that emits toxic wastes damaging the ecosystem over there. But, without proper proof its just hard to belive anything that the author tries to say.

Lastly, the author comes up with a new premise stating the sales would impact the community as the sales are totally dependant upon the tourists and the tourists merely visit due to the bird population. Now, again there may be a very likely possibility of an increase in sale due to the development of small hotel because it may be the case that tourist might find it hard to get a hotel nearby the sanctuary. And building such hotel would in turn bring a major revenue to the community. The author has to prove his point on why such small hotel would reduce the sales.

Based upon the points stated above, its confirmed that the argument has various segments of misinformation and lack of analysis. Without proper, valid and representative evidence its hard for the residents to belive and take action. However, its true that there may be some possibilities that would harm the magnificient bird population if the environment is hampered. But without proper reason and root cause analysis its quite difficult to conclude that Smith Corporation must not be permitted to develop the land. In order to strenghten his/her argument the author needs to perform a good research by keeping the above stated points in mind.