An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

In this 21st centuary of modern age, medical health has been the most major concern of most of the people living in this era. Due to the hazardous pandemic, earth has already witnessed a loss of huge number of lives. The duty to save the human beings has obviously been bestowed on the doctors. It is true that because of doctor's efforts and knowledge we human being are able to fight various kinds of diseases, viruses, accidents, etc. But as per the author's statement I also strongly feel that an ailing patient must be given an easy access to his or her doctor's record of treating similar kind of afflicted patients.

Before moving ahead on why is it necessary to provide the access, lets first understand what are the consequences and benefits of not having such access. Its easy to understand that many of the patients are not that much knowledgable to understand what they are suffering from and what is the process they will go through for their treatment. Most of the people are completely dependant on these erudite doctors and trust blindly on whatever the medications are without knowing the background and success or failure ratio of the doctor for treating the similar kind of disease or scenario.

There are many possibilities if we remain blindfolded to any past records of the doctor. Asking for the records is very similar to checking for reviews of a product that you are going to buy. For example, a person wants to buy a mobile phone doesn't directly but it, where as he will check for the reviews of those people who have already used the phone. From reading these reviews he/she would get an idea about the pros and cons of that phone and will judge accordingly whether to buy that phone or not. Very analogous to the previous example, it is also a human right to know the past record of the doctor before investing your life.

Once we have the access to such records it not only wipes out all the doubts of the ailing patient but also brings a kind of trust in the eyes of patients and his family members. Having such access will grant an opportunity to the patient to think before proceeding with the treatment. There may be a possibility that a well nown doctor is too good in solving many cases but has a low probability of saving lives in a particular field of study. By understanding and analyzing these facts the patient can change his doctor accordingly.

Additionally, the patient will also have a sense of prior knowledge and would be aware before the process starts. It has always proven that someone's mistakes can help other person to not repeat the same mistake. The patient could also learn what are the do's and dont's that one must follow before and after the treatment.

Talking about all the benefits of having an access to these records, there is also one most important factor that most of the patient must always have and that is trust. Trust is undoubtedly very significant when it comes to your life. If you as a patient are handing over your life in a person's hand then it becomes very vital to trust that person. To gain such trust one must have a transparent knowledge of another person (doctor) on whom he is trusting on. Lastly, I would say that life is very precious to every human being, handing over the future to someone's hand requires a lot of guts and trust to do so. In order to help them gain trust on you it would be beneficial if patients are given such access.