The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

1. Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

________________________________________

In this argument, the author assumes that due to the declining birth rate of the Calatrava city, the enrollment of the students in the public school will be decreased, therefore the funds for education, athletics, and other recreational facilities can be safely reduced. He also assumes that by doing this there will be sufficient funds for the city facilities and programs and this will help to increase the adult population of the city. So he/she should observe thoroughly before doing this and making his argument valid.

Firstly, he assumes that because of this declining birth rate, the enrollment of the children in public schools will be decreased. He fails to correlate the relation between declining birth rates and children's enrollment in public schools. If the public schools have the poor education quality then there will surely decrease the number of enrollment in the public schools. But it is not due to the declining birth rates. So the author should examine clearly about these things. The second thing is that He thinks that the funds for the education and athletics and other recreational activities can be reduced. Before doing this he/she should find out what amount of the total budget is funded for the education and athletics field. If a small amount of budget is for that then it is not necessary to reduce the budget from the education fund.

Secondly, he assumes that if the fund for the city facilities and programs is increased then the number of the adult population will definitely increase. If already the funds for the city programs and facilities are more then it is not necessary to provide further fundings. Another question is that do the adults present in the city are interested in these programs? What portion of the adult population exists in the city? If less number of adult population is in the city then the authors assumption is invalid.

In sum, the argument is rife with holes and many things about the argument are missing. So the author should do meticulous analysis before reaching into the conclusion