Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium—substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author in the argument states that milk and dairy products rich in vitamin D and calcium- substances essential for building and maintaining bones, therefore many people say that a diet rich with dairy products can help to prevent osteoporosis. But a long- term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed the dairy products throughout the year have a high rate of bone fractures than those who consume less. Therefore, he assumes that a diet rich in dairy products actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis. To make his argument valid a reasonable meticulous analysis should be done.

Firstly, he assumes that dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium- substances that can help to prevent osteoporosis. He also says that this disease is linked with both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bone to weaken significantly with age. He should provide many pieces of evidence to make his argument valid. If this disease actually linked with genetic and environmental factor then the dieting of dairy products doesn’t significantly affect for prevention of osteoporosis. Another thing about this statement is that fact-based on most relevant data like medical journal report, etc then the author's assumption is valid otherwise invalid.

Secondly, he provides evidence that those who consume dairy products significantly throughout the year are more likely to have bone fractures than those who consume less. So, he fails to provide the source of the data, reliability of the survey, the number of peoples considered in the survey. Therefore, without providing this essential evidence the argument is doubted with several questions and cannot be valid.

Thirdly, it is unclear that bone fractures are caused only by more consumption of dairy products or due to other several reasons. So, without examining thoroughly we cannot say that these fractures are only by more consumption of dairy products. The other factors like hard-working, due to malnutrition, unhealthy diet practice also play a vital role in osteoporosis. Therefore, without analyzing clearly it is impossible to say that more bone fractures are mainly due to the overconsumption of dairy products.

In sum, the argument above is rife with holes, and to make the argument valid and reasonable above doubts should be cleared and meticulous analysis should be done.