The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

25. Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

________________________________________

The argument put forward by the editorial of the newspaper plans to introduce the bicycle lane in the blue highway in order to ease the traffic flow and reduce the rush hour traffic. But the argument is rife with the holes and not well supported by valid evidence. To make the argument sound and valid a lot of questions must be answered. The recommendation to add a bicycle can be implemented if its efforts are proven true to yield beneficial results without any doubts.

First of all the commuters complains about the increased rush hour traffic between the suburb and the city center, solely attributing them to increase rush hour time. What about other necessary conditions to increase the commuting time? Are the roads in the proper condition to ease the traffic flow? Dod the motorist travel in the required speed to reach the destination in the time? If the motorist start late and they put blame on traffic then it, then the reason for introducing the new lane is invalid. Hence the all questions should be answered to make the argument valid.

Secondly, the author assumes that widening the highway can be facilitated by adding the alternative lane of the traffic. But one has to consider that ading the lane is economically feasible? Even if the highway is widened, will it help to reduce the rush hour between the suburbs and the city center? This question if unanswered will severely mar the efficacy of the argument.

Additionally, the argument seems to indulge on the faulty analogy wherein the author compares the effects on the blue highway with the green highway. Do both highways encounters the same number of motorists? Were the vehicle types that passed through both the highways are of similar types? I the vehicles are of similar nature then the author's assumption is true.

The opponent of the motive of the widening the highway is quoting an alternative proposal to add the bicycle lane. But is adding this bicycle lane is only possible alternatives? The author also assumes that the many area residents are keen bicyclists and they will ride the bycycle in this lane, and it would help to reduce the traffic rush hour. But, if people use bicycles for any evening hour or they don’t prefer riding a bicycle more? So the newly constructed lane will be vacant most of the time. Therefore, the meticulous analysis should be done before reaching the conclusion.

In sum, the proposal of constructing new bicycle lane has to answer a variety of questions like the rate of increase in rush hour traffic, opinion of the citizen concerning the expansion of the highway, feasibility of constructing the new highway lane, etc to reach into conclusion that new lane should be constructed and the efficiency of the highway lane.