Claim: No act is done purely for the benefit of others.

Reason: All actions — even those that seem to be done for other people — are based on self-interest.

149. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

I agree with the claim that “No act is done purely for the benefit of others “, and all actions that seem to be done for others are based on self-interest. All the people who are doing altruism for the other people have some self motives behind them. The self motives may be self- satisfaction or another thing. So, there is no such activity that is done totally benefit of others.

Let’s take an example of CEO of the Amazon, who have donated million dollars to the welfare of the peoples. There was a certain motive behind this donation of the money. He was forced by his employees and others for this donation. Another example we can take is Billgate and Malinda Gate foundation who have donated millions of money for the welfare of homeless people and others. There was also be certain hidden self- interest behind this altruism.

However, some acts can be seen that are done for totally done for the benefit of others, but by analyzing thoroughly we can find certain motives behind that work. Some people do altruism for gaining fame, some do for their tax cut, and some do for their self-satisfaction. Therefore, it is clearly seen that no work in this world is done purely for others' benefit and there is some cause behind this altruism.

Furthermore, in this modern world, all people are selfish, and they are busy in gaining money and making their lives luxurious. They have no time for helping other peoples and doing charity works. All are thinking about their own personal life and nobody have time to think about other people, so if they do anything for helping others, there is absolutely certain motives and expectation behind that help. In also politics, the politicians make a development scheme to gain the votes for their election. So, from this, we can clearly say that they have a certain self-benefit behind this development scheme.

In addition, not all people seek benefits from helping the others, there are many examples like Mother Teresa, who has devoted her whole life for the help of the needy people. But, this type of peoples are found rarely in human society. So, in sum, it is clear that no work in this world is done purely benefit for others.