To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

1. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

________________________________________

The author asserts that to understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities. I disagree with the author’s claim because the main origin of the character of any society is mainly in its villages or rural areas. The rural areas are the main source of origin of any civilization in the world.

Firstly, the major cities are those where the modern infrastructures are built by demolishing the ancient cultural heritages and people from outside the country also live in the city areas. So there is less chance to understand the characteristic of society. We can take the example of the capital city of India “Delhi” where most of the buildings are newly built by destroying the cultural heritage structures from where one could find out the characteristic of the society. Due to industrialization and modern colossal structures, there is nothing left to understand the characteristic of society. But, from the villages which are not fully developed all the structures are not modern and demolized, from where we can clearly learn and understand society's characteristics.

Moreover, major cities are those where there is more crowed, and people do not talk with each other. So it is difficult to learn and understand the characteristic of society through these people. We can take another example of micissicipi civilization which is located near the river of micissicipi. This civilization is located in the village and one can learn and understand the characteristic of the society from this.

In sum, from above it is clear that we cannot explore the characteristics of society from the major cities. To understand the characteristic of society one should go to villages and explore things.