The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author suggested allocating the funding for the youth to the adults due to the decreasing birthrate for the past year. However, there are some defects in his/her statements and the advice shall not be taken.

Firstly, the author the birthrate drops in the last year caused by unprecedented incident that public faced which may not last long into the future. if the birthrate has been dropped during the last decades, the author should acknowledge the potential of the decreasing children's population and move on to the following hypothesis.

Secondary, decreasing youth population doesn't necessary cost much less for the community. divide the funds towards other society facilities may lead to unemployment. The youth deserve to have the same quality of education as they do in the past, which may not decrease much in their tuition funding.

Thirdly, author suggested to move funding towards adult population, which he/she expects will increase. Since the author didn't mention the cause, which possibly caused by immigrants if the birthrate in Calatrava is decreasing, the adult's population can only decrease with the birthrate.

consequently, the author hasn't proved his/her statements with sufficient evident and needs to analyse other social factors to come to this conclusion.