The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

In the statement given above, there is a recommendation from the committee about the budget for the next ten year for the Calatrava city. According to their observation, the birthrate of the city Calatrava is getitng decreased. They have mentioned that the last year's birthrate was only one half of the last five years rate of birth by comparing those data. They are also assuming that the students enrolled in the public school will decrease dramatically. And hence, after observing the scenario, they are proposing to reduce the funds budgeted for the education for the next decade. They are also planning to reduce the funds budgeted for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result of these, they are expecting to save sufficient money to fund the city facilities and the programs used more often by adults.

Firstly, it is not a wisely thought over a recommendation given by the committee to reduce the educational funds. What if there were more number of students migrating from another city? In that case, birthrate does not seem to be an important factor to consider the number of students enrolling in the public school. It may also possible that the many of the students are coming to the city because they don't have any good public school in their area or city. The recommedation only favors to reduce the educational funds and not thinking about this perspective about the migrated students.

Secondly, It may be possible that the city Calatrava has a very good facility for the athlets like a large ground for the different games so that there are a lot of athlets who are coming to this city to make their career in the athetic playing. By this way, the decision of reducing the budget for the athletic playing fields can't be equated to the issue. It is not a good solution.

The recommendation of reducing the educational and athletic funds however made in a very narrow perspective. It is also not known if this change has benefited in terms of saving money. Thus, argument loses