The following appeared in a report presented for discussion at a meeting of the directors of a company that manufactures parts for heavy machinery:

"The falling revenues that the company is experiencing coincide with delays in manufacturing. These delays, in turn, are due in large part to poor planning in purchasing metals. Consider further that the manager of the department that handles purchasing of raw materials has an excellent background in general business, psychology, and sociology, but knows little about the properties of metals. The company should, therefore, move the purchasing manager to the sales department and bring in a scientist from the research division to be manager of the purchasing department."

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion

This report concludes that the company should move the purchasing manager to sales department and appoint a scientist from research department as the new purchasing manager. The line of reasoning is that the delay in manufacturing is assumed to cause the falling revenues. Furtherly, it cites that such delay is mainly due to the poor planning in purchasing metals, which is the fault of the current purchasing manager who has little knowledge about the properties of metals. Consequently, it’s assumed that a scientist who knows more about the properties of metals will help on the situation. However, this conclusion is not convincing because of following reasons:

First of all, the author readily assumes that the delay in manufacturing is the main course of the falling revenue. However, there are a lot of factors that will affect a company’s revenue, such as pricing, demand of the product and competition in the market etc., It might be possible that the company has increased the price of product recently so that its products are less competitive than the other competitors. It could be also true that the overall economic is getting worse, which affects the sales of this company. These are just few factors that would result in the falling revenue of a company. The author would have to omit all the possibilities to support the conclusion.

Move over, this argument cites that the poor planning in purchasing metals results in delay of manufacturing. And the purchasing manager who has little knowledge about properties of metals is accused to be responsible for it. However, there’re a lot of factors deciding the efficiency of manufacturing, such as transportation of the raw materials, efficiency of the production line and the response time from the supplier, etc. The author should take all these factors into consideration before making the assumption that planning of purchasing is the main factor affecting the efficiency in manufacturing.

Finally, the author predicts that replacing the purchasing manager by a scientist will help to solve the problem. However, a scientist may know very well about the properties of materials but there’s no guarantee that he also knows all the principle about purchasing. It would be imprudent to make the change unless there’s a proof to show that a scientist will be more capable of doing this job than the current purchasing manager.

In summary, this argument is not compelling because it fails to address many factors that should be taken into consideration. In order to make it more reasonable, the author would have to cite more evidence to support the conclusion.