The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia."Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, f

The given summary is based on a study on headache suffered by the people of Mentia, which propose that salicylates, which are members of same chemical family of aspirin, will steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average people of Mentia. There is a lot of evidence needed in order to effectively evaluate this argument. Without a mention of the required evidence, the argument will fail apart.

First of all, the author said that salicylates are the same as aspirin. This is might not be true, as the chemical bonding of salicylates and aspirin should be the same for this. There might other reasons that's why people don't feel headache.

The author stated that food-processing companies are adding salicylates to foods for preservation and they found that their is a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported over the last twenty-year study. But, the author didn't provide any logical data of the survey report which can convince us to believe him. Moreover, there is no indication where they surveyed, how many are the, their age, gender, height-weight, history of headache in their family. All those data is needed to evaluate this argument.

In the end, the author stated that food-processing companies are planning to add salicylates as a flavor additive for foods. The author assumed that citizens of Mentia will adopt this new change. It only depends on the citizens fo Mantia whether they like it or not.

As, there is no concrete further evidence, the food-processing companies might intentionally be mixing salicylates with foods to increase their profits. We don't know whether salicylates are addictive or not if so, the food processing companies are manipulating the citizens of Mantia and that will harmful for the people of Mantia.

Thus, in order to evaluate the given argument, lots of evidence needs to be furnished. It is vague whether salicylates will decrease headaches or not, as no such clear cut evidence is provided to evaluate it. unless the argument is backed up with substantial evidence, it will remain unstable and unsuitable to be taken into account.