The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the study proposed by the author about the residents of Mentia he or she avers that, Salicylates are the main reason for the decrease of heachaches of the population and as it can now be used as flavoring for food the decline of the illness will continue. The authors in his argument assumes several unwarranted data and to evaluate it further he would have to answer following four questions.

First of all, is the population of Mentia the same as it was for the past 20 years? The study does not show how many the samples were selcted for the analysis of data. It is possible that the whole population of Mentia was selected as the study subject and as the population grew the number of headaches also grew. Also we can assume that people also took newer and better medicines for their headaches as the years went on. In addition to this, better treatments should be available to the people of Mentia than it was available 20 years ago. The author assumes that, the population of Mentia is static and there have not been any changes to their food and medicine intake. In conclusion, to make his argument credible the author must provide the demographic change data and also cite the sampling method and the size of the study.

Furthermore, Salicylates is a aspirin like substance, but do we actually have any proof that it works as aspirin?. Maybe it is its own chemical and eating it only causes harm to the human body. As it is more likely that this is the case than Salicylates actually solving headaches if taken in regular intervals. Many if not all medicines are toxic if taken regularly and without prescription need. Salicylates may still help with headaches but the atuhor does not show how effective it is for humans. Maybe Salicylates is good for rats and dogs but not for humans. The author needs to cite proper scientific data before claiming that regular and more and mor intake of Salicylates will reduce all types of headaches.

The atuhor tells us in his report that, many food companies are adding Salicylates in their food which has reduced the headaches of many people. But this does not seem lopgical. Why would the food-companies deliberately add headache medicine in their foods? One such example could be that, Salicylates is actually a very cheap chemical which adds certain flavors to the food while also making the food more healthy. But another alternative example can be, Salicylates is actually a placebo which in excess can hurt the human body and the food companies knows it and only using it to advertise their product as healthy. If any of these assumptions are true than the authors should evaluate his claims as it stands on flawed grounds.

A healthy person does not need headache medicine in their food. But the author desperately claims that adding in the food is not enough it should also be ubiquitous in the means of flavoring. Although it might seem positive at first, if we look deeper science does not agree to the notion of constant medicine intake without need. Further, consuming medicine and chemical which the body does not need may be extremely harmful in many sense of the word and may even be fatal. The authors argument is not only ridiculous it is also dangerous. He or she should revise their work and should abstain from such claims without proper analysis.

So, as the argument stands now, is severely flawed and rife with holes. The author depends on several unwarranted data and should conduct another study to reduce speculation.