The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

In the study, its has been stated that using salicylates which is member of chemical family of aspirin , in food had registered steady decline in number of headaches suffered by average citizens of Mentia. However, the argument fails to account for several other possible explanations.

Firstly, it is mentioned that salicylates are member of same chemical family as aspirin, so the study have assumed that they can be used for the treatment of headaches. The study fails to give any scientific result or proof for the use of salicylates as medicine, it is possible that though salicylates are member of aspirin,s chemical family they are not as effective as aspirin.

Secondly, study founds that salicylates are presents in many foods and added that for the past several decades food processing companies have been using it as food preservatives, bbut the study fails to give some required data i.e. how much amount of salicylates are present in foods? and how many food processing companies are using it as a food preservatives? The study fails to give the exact data needed for the reader. The argument about decline in average number of headaches in participants fails to give the explanation of how many participants are there in the study, if they are less then can it be concluded for all of the citizens? The decline in headaches can also be the effect of better living, better medications by the participants taken as prescribtion from qualified doctors.

Thirdly, by using more and more salicylates in our food it can be possible that it can have some side effects in our body, t his study fails to provide any data on how much amount of salicylates to be consumed. The study have failed to give some scientific proof and datas which is required

In conclusion, the study fails to give some explanations, statistical datas for their argument.

They should have give the scientific proof about use of salicylates, the statistical data about the study is incomplete. The number of participates is to mentioned to make their argument reliable, further information about the amount of salicylates to be consumed so that it can't create any side effects to the consumer to be given in this study.