The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked both its economy and national identity are endangere

In a newspaper editorial, it is stated that if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country are not checked then country's economy and identity would be danger. This conclusion is based on the immigrants who enter country illegally pose threats to the country. The argument has unsubstantiated assumptions which are examined below. This argument cannot be accepted before examination of unverified assumptions made in the original argument.

First of all, Author assumes that every immigants who enters a country illegally pose threats to the country. Perhaps a person who entered illegally might not perform any threats to the coutry. Perhaps he might have facing difficulties in cost of living in his country and he might have entered other country so that he can have better state of living. Morever, people who does not have freedom of living in their country might try to leave their own country and secretly enter other country. If above scenarios are considered by the author the argument can be considered significantly as flawed.

Secondly, Author is assuming that number of people entering is significant. How significant is the number of people encroacing a country? Perhaps count can be less. Perhaps these entered people cannot do any threats to the nation. Author insignificantly assumes this without providing any evidence.Author also assumes that are no other factors which are responsible for the endanger of country's economic status and identity. If these scenarios has merit, then the argument does not hold any water.

At last, Author assumes people who enter legally does not harm the nation. Perhaps someone who has leagally entered a country but tries to harm the country. Author also assumes that illegal immigrants cause harm to the society. Perhaps illegal immigrant has entered for other reason and not to harm people in the country or economy of the country. If these two scenarios are taken into consideration and are proved true, author's claim can be undermined.

To conclude, the argument by author in newspaper editorial is fully flawed. Conclusion cannot be drawn based on these unverified assumptions. The argument, as it stands now, is completely flawed. Author has to give additional evidence and examine above assumptions made by him, to fully evaluate the argument made by him that if illegal immigrants are not checked, nation economy and idendity would be in danger.