The following letter is from a group of Linford College alumni to the chair of the art

department at the college.

“In a recent survey of college graduates, 90 percent agreed that participating in an

internship increased their chances of finding a job after graduation, but last year, only 40

percent of Linford’s graduating art students had completed an internship. Skyway Designs,

located in nearby Linford City, is the perfect company for students to intern with for a

number of reasons: They offer internships in all of their departments, so every student is

sure to find work that they are interested in. Additionally, their internships offer flexible

working hours. Finally, Skyway Designs is known for being one of the best in the design

business, as over 80 percent of businesses in Linford City have used the services of

Skyway Designs for their design needs. Given the vital role that work experience plays in

a student’s success after graduation, we recommend that our art department require all art

students to complete an internship with Skyway Designs before graduation.”

n the context, the chairperson of the art department of te Linford college suggested that pursuing internship in the Skyway Designs will convive to make a good career of the upcoming graduates. Delineated in this way, the author fails to answer several cardinal questions answer. To justify his conclusion the author narrates that Skyway Design offers internship in all of their departments including flexible working hours & it is knowen to be the best among the city as 80% businesses are depending on skyway for their design works. However, careful scrutiny view of these evidences reveal that there are an abundance of loopholes laying among the proofs which made the argument unwarranted. Therefore, the argument can be comsidered unpersuasive & need more trenchant analysis.

The first point which attracts most is the co-operativeness of the Skyway designs. The author merely assume that Skyway Designs has enormous friendly enviroment during the internship period of the students. It might be happened that the employees of that company feel nettlesome to teach the corporate things to the students. It might be caused that only 40% of students had completed internship though it was benificial for them. If the teaching enviroment is rude in that company then maximum intern students will not be evoked to contunue the intern on that company. Besides this, the author indicates flexible working hours as a good sign, though it is not. Because in the real work life maximum workers will not get flexible working hours. So this is providing intern students an unrealistic pre coming career experience which is detrimental.

Additionally, Despite 80% business company use Skyway Designs, it can not be the cause that they are good at design. It might be happened that Skyway offers some cheap price for doing designs & they are not well enough in designs. Hence, if this becomes true then intern studnets will no be able to learn unique design tricks. Moreover, if the whole department has done intern only on a specifici company this can be inimical for their upcoming career because doing this will curtailing their networking power. So when they will enter in work life they will feel less network for getting job.

On the other hand, the argument can be supplemental if there was a survey conducted among the students who had done intern on Skyway company , so that they can give a review about the working enviroment in the Skyway company. Besides this, Another survey should be conducted among the business companies about asking why they are using that specific company so much. Is there designs are really good or there are something other issues hidden behind. Knowing these facts can enhance the proofs justification what the author has given.

In summary, the argument is unsubstantiated as it stands with lot of porosity. To butress it further it is need to known some important data perhaps by survey or doing some investigation on Skyway Desing before taking such prosaic decision to send all the students on a specific design company. These will be effective for the art department future development.