The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The editor claims here, Balmer island will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents by reducing the moped rented form 50 per day to 25 per day.Narrated in this way ,the argument distorts the view of the situation by manupulating facts & provided poor reasoning.In support of this recommendation the author reasons the the neighbor island of seaville achieved success of reduce the accident rates by reducing the number of rented moped.However,careful scrutiny view of this evidence reveals that it gives little credible support to the authors recommendations. Hence the argument can be considerd unsubstantiated.

First of all,the argument readily assumes that the reduction of the moped can reduce the rate of accidents. This is an assumptions which dont have such solid grounds. Because here the author did not give any certain cause why those accidents were happended.Without he finding the cause of accidents , going to action is just a childish decions.It can be happend the accidents are happend because of other transportation or it can be happen that the people of the island are not aware of the traffic rules. Beside this the author did not clarify about the road conditon where the vehicle & which can be major cause of the accidents.hence the argument would have been much more convinving if the author specifically stated about this information.

Again ,the argument readily assumes that the population of the Balmar island is equal to seavile island,so that applying the same action will not have a negative effect. But the author fails to look up the point that , the popilation of Balmar island increased to 100,000 in summer & their favourite trasport is mapod. If the mapod number is suddenly reduced what happendto this extra population's transportation system? The people will suffer if mapod number are reduced.So thinkiong the about population the author corelate the two island with same resolution which is actaully totally inconvinving.

Fianlly, the author did not give a sustainable resolution about the mapod companies.If a sudden decrease come to their rent,the will face loss in their business which can decry them against the council. Also the author did not tell about What will happened to the extra mapods ? In additon he did not clearly mention about the reduction number of mapod in the neighbor island.Without giving that percentage why he decided to speicificlly reduce the number 50 to 25?Without convincing answer to this question the reader is left with an impression that the claim made by the author are more wishful thinker rather than a substantive evidence.

In epilogue , the author argument is unpersuasive.To bolser it further the must provide some concrete evidence about the cause of choosing the number of reduction . Fianlly to better asses the argument, the author must find the cause of the accidents first.