The following is a letter to the head of the Tourism Bureau on the island of Tria.

“Erosion of beach sand along the shores of Tria Island is a serious threat to our island and our tourist industry. In order to stop the erosion, we should charge people for using the beaches. Although this solution may annoy a few tourists in the short term, it will raise money for replenishing the sand. Replenishing the sand, as was done to protect buildings on the nearby island of Batia, will help protect buildings along our shores, thereby reducing these buildings' risk of additional damage from severe storms. And since beaches and buildings in the area will be preserved, Tria's tourist industry will improve over the long term.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

This argument is well yet far-fetched. It lays a claim that the island of Tria should take a series of protected methods to save their beaches, and improve tourist industry over a long time. Nevertheless, due to several flaws after scrutiny, the argument has to establish some pieces of evidence to make the statement more convincing.

First of all, a problem arises in the argument that to charge the fee to tourists could make enough money to replenish the sand on beaches. However, this contention is never clear pointing out that if they charge the additional fee to people for the beaches, the tourists will still take a trip to the island of Tria. The contents do not show any information about how captivation the island is. The readers cannot sure whether Tria can still have many tourists, even they charge the fee. Maybe, once they start to do it, people are not willing to go there, and the money which the island will receive is very little. Hence, without accounting for and ruling out other likely scenarios, by no means could the author contend that the manner to protect will work on the island.

In addition, another problem is the writer states replenishing the sand could really help to the buildings along shores as Batia. Nonetheless, this is meaningless since Tria and Batia are two totally different places. In this light, it is reasonable to cast doubts upon presumption which made by the author because the presumption actually is inadequate in that the experience in Batia may not suitable to Tria because the reason of the losing sand is different. For example, the reason in Tria might be the losing or the heavy using of the groundwater. The losing of the groundwater could subside the level of the ground, and cause the sea water take off the sand on beaches. Pursuing this reasoning proves that the writer has the responsibility to carefully consider his assumption and then provide cogent evidence to pave the way for a more reliable augment.

Ultimately, even if the previous assumptions might turn out to be supported by subsequently detailed illustration, a crucial problem remains that how is the truth of the erosion on the island of Tria? It may really have some erosion on beaches but it is entirely possible would not make any hurt in the tourist industry because the beaches in such erosion can still keep in an excellent situation. Alternatively, the erosion is a routine erosion. Every couples of years the beaches will decrease, and in other years, the beaches will increase. In order to confirm his point of view, the writer should pay close heed to as well as address the representative probabilities mentioned above. Only specific evidence to show that the beaches will have not recovering hurt is the key to bolstering his advice.

In hindsight, it seems precipitous for the author to make the summary based on a sequence of problematic premises. To eliminate the implausibility of recommendation, the author must offer the more specific evidence mention on the above.