The following memo appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. This shows that eating a substantial amount of fish can clearly prevent colds. Furthermore, since colds are the reason most frequently given for absences from school and work, attendance levels will improve. Therefore, we recommend the daily use of a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the newsletter from the West Meria Public Health Council, they recommend to use nutritional supplement derived from fish oil as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism. In order to support his conclusion, they show the result of a study report from East Meria where fish consumption is very high and people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. They recommend eating a substantial amount of fish which prevents cold and concludes colds are the reason for absences from school and work mostly. The argument as it stands now is full of unwarranted assumptions and it should be backed up by relevant evidences in order to make argument valid.

First of all, the arguer compares absenteeism with coldness. There are various factors that lead to absenteeism in schools and workplaces. Generally, student feign to prevent themselves going to school by stating being unwell. It is likely that students have not done homework and pretend of being illness to prevent themselves going to school. Similarly, an employee should give time to their families along with their office. An employee may take holiday in order to complete urgent work or participate in family function. An employee is also a father or a mother of a child. The father should be there in order to support him or encourage him. He should bear the responsibility of father in harsh conditions or elated situations. For example- in order to support his child in a dance competition, he takes holiday from his office and encourages his child from the back stage. The holiday that is taken by him is considered absenteeism from office point of view and is different from the reason of illness. Thus, the arguer makes a hasty comparison absenteeism with illness.

Secondly, the arguer states another flaws in the form of report form East Meria where fish consumption is very high and people from East Meria rarely visit doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. The arguer prejudices in the sense that people only visit to a doctor when they suffer from cold or not any other disease. It is possible that people from East Meria suppose coldness as a normal flu and hesitate to visit to a doctor. It is likely that people from East Meria are from conservative society and have predilection for homemade remedies for the treatment of coldness. It is likely that people form East Meria are from the poor backgrounds and don’t have enough money to treat coldness by visiting doctors. They visit doctor rarely if the symptoms are worse and is taking time for healing. Thus, there may be various factors for the people of East Meria in order to treat cold by visiting doctors.

Thirdly, the arguer recommends the daily use of nutrition supplements in the form of fish oil as a good way to prevent cold and absenteeism. However, the argument fails to provide any scientific relevance linking consuming fish oil with the prevention of cold. It is true that consuming fish oil actually increases our stamina or there are various health benefits in consuming fish oil. But, it is not given that the reason for the coldness is due to lacking fish in our diet. Thus, it is harsh to suppose consuming fish can lower the chances of coldness.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now does not hold water. In order to make the argument valid, it should be supported with evidence in the form of systematic formats stating the reason of consuming fish or fish derivatives can actually cure coldness. Similarly, the argument should provide relevant information or evidence showing the relation of absenteeism with coldness.