The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of the memorandum avers that customers of Happy Pancake House restaurants do not distinct difference between margarine and butter. Although the author of the argument gives us some evidences to support his or her position, we may asserts some alternative explanations of the facts.

First of all, we were told that customers of the Happy Pancake House restaurants were given margarine instead of butter and they did not distinct the substitution. Therefore, we may surmise that the clients were not informed about the substitution. Although from author's prospect this fact means that the customers did not notice the difference or even mean margarine when ask about butter, the probability exists that they trust the restaurants and therefore do not doubt in products which are given to them. The trust of customer to seller is a basis of our modern business, a client who does not satisfy with the service may demand his or her money back, rights of customers protected by the law and enforced by government's regulations. An average customer does not doubt in quality of the service and products which he or she receives. In other words, if you go to a official retailer to buy an iPhone, you will be sure that you buy an original one, if you were given a copy of the smart phone you probably will not notice it at first even if you notice a subtle difference in the appearance of your purchase. In other words, the clients of the restaurant chain in fact may neglect the difference between the taste of the two products.

Additionally to it, we know that two products have similar characteristics and only slightly differ from each other. In case, a person does not have an experice and did not eat margarine, he of she may indeed not understand why the taste of the product is different form one which is familiar to them. To illustrate idea imagine that you visit a restaurant and decide to try a good wine, you have no experience with it, and if you would given a cheap bottle of wine instead of one which you order you may notice the difference but do not understand the reason of the it an therefore accepted that you do not like this brand of wine.

However, the author's belief that the substitution will not have a negative effect on the restaurant chain is not supported. If our explanation correct and customers are not informed and therefore were deceived by the chain workers. The disclosure of the real situation may cause an outburst of negative comments in the internet which finally may ruin the reputation of the restaurant chain. In today's world when internet services has become popular and many people use them to make their decision about the visiting of not visiting a place, a number of negative feedbacks may dramatically decrease popularity of the chain.