The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the memorandum presented by the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurant, the author concludes that the customers either did not acknowledge the discrepancy between butter and margarine or used the same term ‘butter’ to refer to butter and margarine. However, for this claim to be fully justified, the argument requires more clarification and less assumption. This passage is rife with holes and assumptions and will be discussed below.

First of all, the author made a flaw of oversimplification. He/she assumed that 98 people out of 100 customers are okay with the change from butter to margarine since only 2 percent of the customers complained about such change. However, it is opaque to how many customers the restaurant asked whether they realized the change. The restaurant could have only asked 2 customers out of a hundred about the change and claim that the other 98 customers are still satisfied. Furthermore, generally, normal customers would simply stop consuming the products of the Happy Pancake House restaurant if they noticed the change in taste. Only small amount of people would have come back to complain about the change.

In addition, the change from butter to margarine may attract new customers who prefer margarine over butter. The regular customers who were satisfied with the taste of butter would be replaced by new customers which seems like little customers are complaining about the change. Just like mentioned above, this wanting of complaints may result in 2 percent of customers complaining, however, does not fully justify the author’s claim.

Furthermore, the change could be accepted depending on the occasion. If the menu the customers ordered were specifically cooked for margarine to be used, then customers would not complain about the change. Even if they noticed the change in taste, they would believe that it is due to the change of the menu.

To sum up, examining the various factors and angles involved with the authors claim that it is appropriate to replace butter to margarine since little customers complained about such change, the argument does not justify its claim. While the passage highlights a possibility, more information is required to warrant such action.