The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they

are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument that the replacement of butter with margarine has had little impact on the restaurant’s customers makes a number of unstated assumptions regarding the fact that only 2 percents of the costumers complain, customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or customers chose to use the term ‘butter’ for both butter and margarine. Taken as a whole, these unwarranted assumptions makes the argument highly suspect. Indeed, if these unstated assumptions do not hold true, the argument totally falls apart.

The major leap in the argument is the assumption that since only 2 percent of the customers complain, the switch from butter to margarine had no effect on the customers. The sale trend needs to be evaluated to determine if the change had impact on the customers or not. The 2 percent customers that have complained might be the staunch customers that had long lasting relationship with the store. Some of the remaining customers that do not complain might have stop patronizing the restaurant because of this change. Thus, the percentage alone cannot be used to determine if the change had impact on the customers or not.

Furthermore, the 2 percent customers’ gripes might be efficacious if the real number behind this percent is googol. On the other hand, the 2 percent customers’ complaints might be ineffective if the total amount of customers is scant. Thus, relying on percentage without knowing the real value seems impolitic. Moreover, butters and margarines are slightly different in taste. Thus, a customer who is inured to using butter will definitely know when he is served margarine. Customers might chose not to complain when served margarines instead of butter because these customers have had the intention of not returning to the restaurant again. Thus, customers’ silence when served margarine rather than butter does not mean they are comfortable with the margarine.

Lastly, the claim assume that customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or refers to both butter and margarine as “butter”. This assumption is flawed as there might be other reasons the served customers have chosen not to complain. Though some customers might be comfortable with the margarine, majority of the customers will be displeased with the margarine and might have chosen remain mute with the intention of stopping to patronize the restaurant.

In conclusion, the argument that customers are satisfied with the restaurant’s shift from butter to margarine makes numerous unstated assumptions that seriously undermines its validity. Unless these assumptions are addressed, the argument falls apart. Thus, the restaurant might be making a major mistake by replacing butter with margarine when serving customers