The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument that government should educate people about bicycle safety and reduce effort on encouraging bicyclist to wear helmet so as to reduce number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents make a number of unwarranted assumption that need to be scrutinized. Taken as a whole, these unstated assumptions render the argument highly suspect. Indeed, if these assumptions do not hold true, the argument totally falls apart.

The first in the leap argument is the assumption that the same population that was studied ten years ago was the same population that was studied recently. The first study was carried out for close to a decade ago. Things have changed. The population must have increased tremendously. Thus , the amount of cyclist too must have increased. In order to show the validity of this statistics, the author needs to show the amount of people that were included in the first study and the amount of people that were included in the second study. The result numbers of this analogy will determine if there was actual increase in the amount of bicyclist who had accident or not.

Another major leap in the argument is the assumption that bicyclist feel safer using helmet and thus, riding carelessly. This doesn’t sound true as there might be other causes of this increase in bicyclist accidents. One of such cause might be the bad state of road or reckless driving of car owners. There are many factors that could lead to increase in bicyclists accidents in the town. Thus, if the argument does not prove that only bicyclists’ recklessness lead to increase in bicyclists accidents, the argument is invalid.

Furthermore, the argument that government concentrating more on educating people about bicycle accident will lead to a decrease in bicycle accident. This might not be the case as we don’t know if these people that to be educated do ride bicycle. Most people might not even have a bicycle, talk less of riding one. Thereby leading to government wasting it resources on educating people who have no penchant for riding bicycle. If the argument shows no prove that the people to be educated are bicycle riders or actually own a bicycle, then, the assumption that the opinion of government educating people about danger of bicycle leading to decrease in bicycle accident is flawed.

Finally, the argument claimed that government reducing it effort on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets will lead to deduction in bicyclist accident. This is - in actual sense - not reasonable as the idea of government not encouraging or requiring bicyclist to wear helmets will only lead to increase in more bicycle accidents. Thus, the argument is flawed by assuming that government reducing it effort to require bicyclist will reduce bicycle accidents.

However, for the argument to be strengthened, the author needs to show the numbers behind the study conducted recently and ten years ago. These numbers will show the actual increase or decrease number of bicyclist accidents. The argument also need to show that government are educating the bicycle riders and not those who don’t have bicycle.

In conclusion, the argument that government reducing its effort in encouraging bicyclist to wear helmet and increasing it effort on educating people about bicycle accident will lead to decrease in bicycle accident makes numerous unstated assumptions that seriously debilitate it validity. Unless these unwarranted assumptions are addressed, the argument totally falls apart. Thus, government might be making a major mistake by not requiring bicyclist to wear helmets and educating the general populace instead of bicycle owners.