The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, we predict that Happy Pancake House will be able to increase profits dramatically if we extend this cost-saving change to all our restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the memorandum, from the business manager of the happy pancake house restaurants had mentioned that, Happy pancake would be able to redouble its profit through cost saving approach of replacing butter with margarine and flourishing it among its all the restaurant can make them inordinately profitable. They have come to this conclusion based on the fact that out of 100 people 98 were happy with the change made in the restaurant. Along with it, the conclusion had been made based on the incapability of the customer to distinguish between the butter and margarine. However, before this recommendation can be made, the author should be able to answer the following three questions.

Firstly, Are the margarine which is interchanged with the butter are as healthy as the butter? Perhaps if the margarine which is replaced with the butter if give rise to some health issues or some maladies than the flow of the customer can get reduced. As the health is always the major factor for all the people. May be some of the customer may have allergic problem with the margarine and may not have with the butter. So, such change may hamper on the health and profit of the restaurants. If either of this scenario are true, then conclusion made would be significantly weakened.

Secondly, Can we make this generalization that the change of butter with margarine would be profitable among all of its branches based on the survey made on single branch? Perhaps the author had made the assumptions prematurely that if customer of one of its branches are happy with change, then other customers of other branches would also be. But, In other branches the customer may distinguish between the taste of butter and margarine and would dislike the change. So, this assumption made by the business manager may be totally flawed.

Furthermore, based on only this change can we estimate the profit on the business? Perhaps, some customer may mainly be happy with hospitality of the restaurant than with the taste of the food. The change made by the restaurant may be true for profit but if the customers are hospitality seeker and if restaurant short fall on the hospitality matter than conjecture of the profitability made on the argument would be totally baseless.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now are totally flawed due to its reliance on the baseless assumption. If the business manager would be able to give answer to the above three question or would provide more evidence, then the recommendation provided by the above conclusion can be considered.