The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author proposes that the replacement of butter to margarine had not much of a difference as the customers hardly shown any complaints or distaste for the switch; however, the generalizations and the assumptions that the author present are clearly flawed and requires a closer examination.

The memorandum asserts that the customers had displayed little impact of the change from butter to margarine from a survey. We have to question how the survey was conducted. Did the questionnaires of the survey provide bias selection and options that led the customers to believe that the margarine was the better choice rather than butter? Who were the people that answered the survey representing the 2 percent that disliked butter? The differences in gender, age, and ethnicity account for the survey's selection bias resulting in a skewed statistic. The Happy Pancake House would have liked for the switch as it may save cost for the restaurant; hence, the restaurant focused on the customers to be unwavered by the change. As a result, for the author to conclude that the change had minimal effect is an overstatement that requires more in depth analysis as to confirm whether or not the change was favorable.

Furthermore, the authors assumes that the servers reported the number of customers did not complain when they were given margarine. The need for clarity of the actual numbers should be taken into consideration when deciding the conclusion that those who asked for butter did not mind receiving margarine. It is plausible to question if the customer could differentiate between butter and margarine. The notion is unclear when the servers overlook the customers who complained and only mentioned the customers who did not complain in the memorandum for Happy Pancake House restaurants. In addition, the location of the restaurant throughout southwestern United States could provide some evidence of the type of customers that answered the survey. The people in southwestern United States may be more casual and forgiving compared to people from northern United States, such as in New York or Washington, D.C. The number of customers should encompass various customers to determine the change was a good option for the restaurant to make in the first place.

Moreover, the memorandum states that the customers were unable to distinguish between margarine and butter. This may be the very reason for the low percent of indifference for the change. Because the customer did not mind the switch between the two options, the assumption concludes that the margarine was a good switch. Although the two are highly similar in taste, the customers are reluctant to make a large complaint in the first place. However, the author's assumption of simply stating that the switch is arbitrary should be reconsider the validity in the memorandum.

In conclusion, the author does make questionable assumptions that the change from butter to margarine was a good choice based on the survey from the customers. Consequently, the author should look into the analysis of the survey if the survey itself is valid and solidify the notion if all customers were satisfied with the switch and not overlook the actual complaints that the customers have made as well.