The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memorandum concludes that in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing further advertising revenues, the television station should restore their time devoted to weather and local news to their former level. This conclusion is reached based on the following evidences. Firstly, most number of complaints were pertaining the station's coverage of weather and local news during the past year of more national news coverage. Secondly, cancellation of advertising contracts by the local businesses that used to adverstise during the late-night new program. The business manager needs to ponder on some assumptions made in the memorandum.

The business manager assumes that during the last year, most of the complaints received concerning to station's coverage of weather and local news implies the viewers want more of weather and local news. However, it is possible that the complaints received address the issue of quality of weather and local news. Perhaps the viewers like the national news more and hence are complaining about the poor quality and trivial structure of weather and local news. Alternatively, it is also possible that the complaints are related to the host of the weather and local news. The viewers might not want to listen to a host who has recently been accused of a scandal. If the examples hold true, then the viewers are not complaining about the decreased time of weather and local news and hence the conclusion can not achieve the result as expected

Furthermore, the argument assumes that increasing time for weather and local news like before would bring back the local business for adverstisement. But, there might be a chance that local businesses are in poor market conditions and suffering from loss and hence, do not want to spend their money on advertisements. Hence, the assumption that local businesses cancelled their contracts because of decrease in time for weather and local news does not hold water and seriously affects the conclusion.

Hence, the argument as it stands now need does not hold water and needs more discreet inspection on the situation that the television station is facing. Perhaps more evidence on the above mentioned assumptions might help in deciding a more judicious solution to the problem of avoiding any further loss in advertising revenues and attracting more viewers to the program.