The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Preparing young people for leadership roles is an important task for the development of the society. The claim states that the best way for a society to perpare its young people for leadership roles is by instilling a sense of cooperation in them. Yes, cooperation is the way to go for a better society. However, some healthy competition helps in achieving a goal quicker. The following three paragraphs explain why I mostly agree with the claim.

To Begin with, as a field gets complex and convoluted, cooperation becomes a necessity. For instance, as we are living in the age of software, the mechanism and procedures to create software and related programs has become so complex that cooperation is inevitable to stay persistent in the market. Recently, Google and Apple who were always on the nose with each other made a collaborative effort in improving the privacy of their customer. This shows that even the big names in the industry can't survive without a cooperation in the ever growing and booming fields. Thus, if we try to instill a sense of cooperation in young people, a major daunting task can be met more effectively.

In the same sense, cooperation among political parties and industrial companies leads to lesser headache and disputes, and their energy is well spent on something which is more significant. Reflecting on the past we see that Political Parties were trying to sway people's opinion by exposing the scams of the the rival parties. Hence, the resources were spent more on competing with each other rather than on resolving much bigger and imperative issues like Global Warming. If the sense of cooperation is instilled in the youth, major issues will be addressed rather than futile competition.

Having said that, healthy competition can bring a rapid development of a product and helps in dissolving the monopoly. For example, Intel was the only manufacturer of processor before AMD took their shot. During that period, the price of Intel chips skyrocketed and innovation and development of the chips slowed down. This monopoly was shattered by arrival of AMD with their affordable as well as unique processor designs. Since, then both companies are in healthy competition with each other and development of newer chips is rapid. Hence, a healthy competition can always help the society.

Thus, the only cooperating might not be helpful for a society and some form of competition should be present to keep the ball rolling. Hence, the claim at hand is complex and has a fuzzy characteristic to it. So, instill cooperation in the young people but also keep space for some competition for the betterment of the society.