The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The president and the administrative staff of Grove college recommends to its geoverning commitee that the college should preserve its century-old tradition and not admit men into its programs. The recommendation is based on survey conducted by student government and on other survey that over fity percent of college alumnae opposed coeducation. Before, heeding to recommendation and keeping the all-female education unchanged, the college's governing committe should address the following question to get more reasonability on the recommendation.

To begin with, was the survey conducted by student government impartial and not influenced? If it turn out the survey was influence by some student who does not want coeducation simply because of the irradical thinking that allowing men would make the college less sacred and impure. Hence, if the student informed the voting of every student then, then it makes the survey biased and influenced. Also, the student government could be venal and against the idea of coeducation. So they could have placed a compromised voting mechanism in which the student government can manipulate the votes. If this possibilites are true, then it seriously affects the basis of the recommendation and governing committee should not jump on to the recommendation before doing their own research.

Additionaly, was the other survey on alumnae had responses from a large number of alumnae or was it a small number? In other words, was the number of responses large enough? The surveys says that over half of the alumnae who answered the survey opposed the idea. Well, it might be the case that the number of alumni who answered might be very less and hence, it cannot be used as a strong reason to think that majority of alumae are against this idea. For instance, suppose only 10 out of 100 alumnae answered the survey and thus based on its statistics only 5 oppose the coeducation. Now, it does not take into account the view of other 95 people. Hence, this possibility breaks another pillar on which the recommendation is based on.

Hence, only when the committe gets a detailed and reasonable answers to these questions, they sould take further decision. Thus, the arguments made by the administrative staff hold a little water and need more evidence to reach to a reasonable conclusion.