Some people believe that government officials must carry out the will of the people they serve. Others believe that officials should base their decisions on their own judgment.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Government officials hold the responsibility of taking the judgement judiciously and impartially. Some people believe that they must carry out the will of the people they serve. While, other side beileves that the decisions should be of their own judgement. I think that the officials should take decisions using their own judgement. The following three reasons explain why I align more with this view.

If the officials heed the will of people, then the decisions might not always be impartial and indifferent. For instance, if the public's opinion is highly influenced by a celebrity who is venal. In this case, the public are swayed by the influence and might not see the larger view of the ploy. So, the government offical will be forced to carry the public will even though he/she has a insight about the influence of the celebrity. This results in wrong decisions and does harm than good to the society.

Additionly, as the government officials are trained and because they have higher access to resources, the government official knows the nitty-gritty of the happening. This gives them more variables and a larger view for decision making. Lets assume that because of monetary crisis in a nation, the public wants the government to lower the price hikes of a resource. Although, from the surface it might look like a solution to the crisis in people's eyes, from the report which the officials have generated and from the surveys they have conducted, the government official clearly knows this will of public will negatively affect the current situation. Hence, people might not know the full story behind an event and their will might not be reasonable. Thus, the officials, being more aware of the situation can handle it with judiciousness.

Now, one might say that the government official might not know about the requirements and the demands of the public, and thus carry out their will to fulfill the need. But perhaps, as argued before, the will of public may be influence by a malicious entity or people might not be aware of the other half of the story and all its details. Hence, the decision of the government officials should be of their judgemnt.